Skip to content

Terror Pop – formerly Agitate The Gravel – 21st April 2012


In an attempt to confuse us, Agitate The Gravel have renamed themselves Terror Pop. All confusion will however be removed on Saturday 21st April when they perform in Myrtleville.

Formed in early 2010 out of a love for all things pop and a growing dissatisfaction with current musical trends, Agitate the Gravel – Chris Somers (vocals/guitar), Ruairi Dale (guitar/vocals), Muireann Levis (bass/vocals) and Cormac Connolly (drums) spent a year building up an electrifying live set before beginning their onslaught on their native Cork scene.

Striking a balance between infectious riffs, celestial harmonies and sonic mayhem they take influence from past masters of many genres, citing Blur, Weezer and My Bloody Valentine as major influences.

In what is being described as a “strident and urgent pop firecracker”, Cork’s own Agitate the Gravel will launch their new single later this month. Entitled Wait, the single is the band’s third release in an 18-month spell that has seen the group travel relentlessly across the country and sharing bills with the likes of Mike Watt, Jogging, Fighting With Wire and the Ambience Affair. The band also featured on Whelan’s Ones to Watch for 2012 along with Hot Press’ Freezer Sessions. Wait will be launched at Cyprus Avenue on Friday, March 30th with the single later released on Monday, April 2nd.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: